Class Schedule

St. Charles County Ambulance District is a recognized leader in EMS Education in the metropolitan St. Louis and St. Charles County area.  The Training center conducts entry-level EMT and paramedic programs and EMS continuing education and certification.  SCCAD is also an authorized American Heart Association training center that offers community and professional cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) and pediatric advanced life support (PALS) provider and instructor programs.

The St. Charles County Training Center models the District's Mission Statement - Committed to Excellence - to assure you a quality educational experience.

Prehospital Trauma Life Support Provider Renewal

Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Renewal class is an 8-hour course designed to update pre-hospital care personnel on theories and techniques related to the management of a trauma patient.  The course is designed for experienced pre-hospital or emergency care personnel.  The course is provided through the National Associationof EMTs in cooperation with the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma.


  • Current PHTLS or ITLS Provider status 

Students are responsible for acquiring their own textbook.   

The required textbook is Prehospital Trauma Life Support - ISBN 9780323065023  

Textbooks are available through a variety of sources. This is an authorized PHTLS distributor:   

Jones & Bartlett Learning  

Phone: 800-832-0034 

Customer service: ext. 8197 


Upon successful completion of this program, attendees will receive a PHTLS card valid for four years, a certificate of completion and 8 hours of continuing education units.  Participants must bring completed pre-test to class.